Evo* 2010
Welcome to EvoStar 2010
The main European events on Evolutionary Computation
13th European Conference on Genetic Programming

EuroGP is the premier annual conference on Genetic Programming. We invite high quality submissions in all areas of evolution of computer programs describing new original research.

A double-blind review process will be adopted. The conference will feature a mixture of oral presentations and poster sessions.

The EuroGP conference is always a very enjoyable event offering excellent opportunities for networking, informal contact, exchange of ideas and discussions with fellow researchers in a friendly and relaxed setting.

High quality papers are sought on topics strongly related to the evolution of computer programs, ranging from theoretical work to innovative applications.

Areas of Interests and Contributions

Topics include but are not limited to:

  • Theoretical developments
  • Empirical studies of GP performance and behaviour
  • Algorithms, representations and operators
  • Applications of GP to real-life problems
  • Hybrid architectures including GP components
  • Unconventional evolvable computation
  • Evolutionary design
  • Evolutionary robotics
  • Grammar-based GP
  • Evolvable hardware
  • Linear GP
  • Self-reproducing programs
  • Evolution of tree or graph structures
  • Evolution of various classes of automata or machine (e.g. cellular automata, finite state machines, pushdown automata, Turing machines)
  • Object-oriented genetic programming
Publication Details

Accepted papers will be presented orally or as posters at the Conference and will be printed in the proceedings published by Springer Verlag in the LNCS series.
Previous editions of EuroGP were published in the Springer Verlag LNCS volumes 1598, 1802, 2038, 2278, 2610, 3003, 3447, 3905, 4445, 4971, 5481.

Accepted papers can be found here.

Submission Details

Please use LNCS format

Submissions should be no more than 12 pages in English

As we are adopting a double-blind peer review process, please ensure to anonymise your submission by removing all references to the authors.

Link to submit your paper: http://myreview.csregistry.org/eurogp10/

Programme Chairs
Anna I Esparcia-Alcázar
Instituto Tecnológico de Informática
Anikó Ekárt
Aston University
United Kingdom
Publication Chair
Sara Silva
Programme Committee
Hussein Abbass, UNSW @ ADFA, Australia
Lee Altenberg, University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA
Lourdes Araujo, UNED, Spain
R. Muhammad Atif Azad, University of Limerick, Ireland
Wolfgang Banzhaf, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
Xavier Blasco, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
Anthony Brabazon, University College Dublin, Ireland
Nicolas Bredeche, Université Paris-Sud, France
Stefano Cagnoni, Università degli Studi di Parma, Italy
Philippe Collard, Laboratoire I3S (UNSA-CNRS), France
Pierre Collet, LSIIT-FDBT, France
Ernesto Costa, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Michael Defoin Platel, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Antonio Della Cioppa, University of Salerno, Italy
Ian Dempsey, Pipeline Financial Group, Inc., USA
Federico Divina, Pablo de Olavide University, Spain
Marc Ebner, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, Germany
Francisco Fernàndez de Vega, Universidad de Extremadura, Spain
Gianluigi Folino, ICAR-CNR, Italy
Christian Gagné, MDA, Canada
Steven Gustafson, GE Global Research, USA
Jin-Kao Hao, LERIA, University of Angers, France
Simon Harding, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
Inman Harvey, University of Sussex, UK
Malcolm I Heywood, Dalhousie University, Canada
Tuan-Hao Hoang, University of New South Wales @ ADFA, Australia
David Jackson, University of Liverpool, UK
Colin Johnson, University of Kent, UK
Graham Kendall, University of Nottingham, UK
Arthur Kordon, The Dow Chemical Company, USA
Michael Korns, Korns Associates, USA
Mark Kotanchek, Evolved Analytics, USA
Krzysztof Krawiec, Poznan University of Technology, Poland
Jiri Kubalik, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
William B. Langdon, University College London, UK
Kwong Sak Leung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
John Levine, University of Strathclyde, UK
Bob MacCallum, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Penousal Machado, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Bob McKay, Seoul National University, Korea
Nic McPhee, University of Minnesota, Morris, USA
Jörn Mehnen, Cranfield University, UK
Alberto Moraglio, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Xuan Hoai Nguyen, Seoul National University, Korea
Miguel Nicolau, INRIA, France
Julio Cesar Nievola, Pontificia Universidade Catolica do Parana, Brazil
Michael O'Neill, University College Dublin, Ireland
Una-May O'Reilly, MIT, USA
Ender Ozcan, University of Nottingham, UK
Andrew J. Parkes, University of Nottingham, UK
Clara Pizzuti, Institute for High Performance Computing and Networking, Italy
Riccardo Poli, University of Essex, UK
Thomas Ray, University of Oklahoma, USA
Denis Robilliard, Université du Littoral, Cote D'Opale, France
Marc Schoenauer, INRIA, France
Lukas Sekanina, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
Yin Shan, Medicare, Australia
Sara Silva, INESC-ID Lisboa, Portugal
Moshe Sipper, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Alexei N. Skurikhin, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
Guido Smits, The Dow Chemical Company, USA
Terence Soule, University of Idaho, USA
Ivan Tanev, Doshisha University, Japan
Ernesto Tarantino, ICAR-CNR, Italy
Marco Tomassini, University of Lausanne, Switzerland
Leonardo Vanneschi, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Sébastien Verel, Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis/CNRS, France
Man Leung Wong, Lingnan University, Hong Kong
Bart Wyns, University of Gent, Belgium
Lidia Yamamoto, University of Basel, Switzerland
Tina Yu, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
Mengjie Zhang, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Accepted Papers




EvoCompetitions (new)

Travel and local information
Visas for Turkey
Letters of invitation
Accepted papers
Invited speakers
Poster information

Local information sister site:
EvoStar 2010 @ Istanbul
Local news via RSS
Evo* 2010 is on LinkedIn

Submision Deadline

30th November 2009

Notification to Authors

6th January 2010

Camera-Ready Deadline

15th January 2010

Early Registration

6th January - 1st March 2010

Bursary Applications Deadline

22nd February 2010


7th - 9th April 2010

Previous Evo* Events