Evo8 2010
Welcome to EvoStar 2010
The main European events on Evolutionary Computation
EvoCOP 2010
10th European Conference on Evolutionary Computation in Combinatorial Optimisation

Metaheuristics are used to solve difficult combinatorial optimization problems appearing in various industrial, economic, and scientific domains. Prominent examples of metaheuristics include: evolutionary algorithms, simulated annealing, tabu search, scatter search and path relinking, memetic algorithms, ant colony and particle swarm optimization, variable neighborhood search, iterated local search, greedy randomized adaptive search procedures, estimation of distribution algorithms, and hyperheuristics. Successfully solved problems include scheduling, timetabling, network design, transportation and distribution problems, vehicle routing, traveling salesman, graph problems, satisfiability, packing problems, planning problems, and general mixed integer programming.

The EvoCOP series, started in 2001 and held annually since then, was the first event specifically dedicated to the application of evolutionary computation and related methods to combinatorial optimization problems. Following the general trend of hybrid metaheuristics and diminishing boundaries between the different classes of metaheuristics, EvoCOP broadened its scope in 2006, and now explicitly invites submissions on any kind of metaheuristic for combinatorial optimization.

The conference will be held in conjunction with EuroGP2010 (the 13th European Conference on Genetic Programming), EvoBIO 2010 (the 8th European Conference on Evolutionary Computation, Machine Learning and Data Mining in Bioinformatics), and EvoApplications 2010 (including specialist events on a range of evolutionary computation topics and applications), in a joint event collectively known as EvoStar 2010.

Areas of Interests and Contributions

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Applications of metaheuristics to combinatorial optimization problems
  • Novel application domains for metaheuristic optimisation methods
  • Representation techniques
  • Neighborhoods and efficient algorithms for searching them
  • Variation operators for stochastic search methods
  • Constraint-handling techniques
  • Hybrid methods and hybridization techniques
  • Parallelization
  • Theoretical developments
  • Search space analyses
  • Comparisons between different (also exact) techniques
  • Automated tuning of metaheuristics using machine learning, evolutionary and other approaches
Publication Details

All accepted papers will be presented orally at the conference and printed in the proceedings published by Springer in the LNCS series (see LNCS volumes 2037, 2279, 2611, 3004, 3448, 3906, 4446, 4972 and 5482 for the previous proceedings).

Accepted papers can be found here.

Submissions will be done electronically using the online submission service.

Papers must be formatted following Springer LNCS guidelines, with no more than 12 pages. The submission deadline is 30th November, 2009.

IMPORTANT: The reviewing process will be double-blind, so please omit information about the authors in the submitted paper. The submissions will be peer reviewed by at least three members of the program committee.

Link to submit your paper: http://myreview.csregistry.org/evocop10/

Programme Chairs
Peter Cowling
University of Bradford
United Kingdom
Peter Merz
FH Hannover - University of Applied Sciences and Arts
Programme Committee
dnan Acan, Middle East Technical University, Ankara, Turkey
Hernán Aguirre, Shinshu University, Nagano, Japan
Enrique Alba, Universidad de Málaga, Spain
Mehmet Emin Aydin, University of Bedfordshire
Ruibin Bai, University of Nottingham, UK
Thomas Bartz-Beielstein, Cologne University of Applied Sciences
Christian Bierwirth, University of Bremen, Germany
Maria Blesa, Technical University of Catalonia
Christian Blum, Universitat Politècnica de Cataluny, Spa
Rafael Caballero, University of Málaga
Pedro Castillo, Universidad de Granada
Konstantin Chakhlevitch, City University, UK
Carlos Coello Coello, National Polytechnic Institute, Mexico
Carlos Cotta, University Malaga
Peter Cowling, University of Bradford, UK
Keshav Dahal, University of Bradford, UK
Karl Doerner, Universität Wien, Austria
Benjamin Doerr, Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Germany
Jeroen Eggermont, Leiden University Medical Center
Anton V. Eremeev, Omsk Branch of Sobolev Institute of Mathematics, Russia
Richard F. Hartl, University of Vienna, Austria
Antonio J. Fernandez, Universidad de Málaga, Spain
Francisco Fernández de Vega, University of Extremadura
Bernd Freisleben, University of Marburg, Germany
José Enrique Gallardo, University of Málaga
Jens Gottlieb, SAP, Germany
Walter Gutjahr, University of Vienna, Austria
Jin-Kao Hao, University of Angers, France
Geir Hasle, SINTEF Applied Mathematics, Norway
Juhos István, University of Szeged, Hungary
Graham Kendall, University of Nottingham, UK
Joshua Knowles, University of Manchester, UK
Mario Köppen, Kyushu Institute of Technology
Jozef Kratica, Mathematical Institute, Serbian Academy
Rhyd Lewis, Cardiff University, UK
Arne Løkketangen, Molde College, Norway
José Antonio Lozano, University of the Basque Country
Dirk C. Mattfeld, Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany
Barry McCollum, Queen's University Belfast, UK
Juan Julián Merelo, University of Granada
Peter Merz, FH Hannover - University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Germany
Martin Middendorf, Universität Leipzig, Germany
Julian Molina, University of Málaga
Jose Marcos Moreno, University of La Laguna
Pablo Moscato, The University of Newcastle, Australia
Christine L. Mumford, Cardiff University, UK
Nysret Musliu, Vienna University of Technology
Yuichi Nagata, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Volker Nissen, Technical University of Ilmenau, Germany
Francisco J. B. Pereira, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Jakob Puchinger, Austrian Institute of Technology
Günther Raidl, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Marcus Randall, Bond University, Queensland, Australia
Marc Reimann, University of Graz, Austria
Andrea Roli, Università degli Studi di Bologna, Italy
Franz Rothlauf, Johannes Gutenberg Universitat, Mainz, Germany
Michael Sampels, Université Libre de Bruxelles
Marc Schoenauer, INRIA, France
Jim Smith, University of the West of England, UK
Christine Solnon, University Lyon 1, France
Giovanni Squillero, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Thomas Stuetzle, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
El-ghazali Talbi, Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille, France
Kay Chen Tan, National University of Singapore
Jorge Tavares, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Jano van Hemert, University of Edinburgh
Stefan Voss, University of Hamburg, Germany
Jean-Paul Watson, Sandia National Laboratories, USA
Jennifer Willies, Napier University
Fatos Xhafa, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Takeshi Yamada, NTT Communication Science Laboratories, Kyoto




EvoCompetitions (new)

Travel and local information
Visas for Turkey
Letters of invitation
Accepted papers
Invited speakers
Poster information

Local information sister site:
EvoStar 2010 @ Istanbul
Local news via RSS
Evo* 2010 is on LinkedIn

Submision Deadline

30th November 2009

Notification to Authors

6th January 2010

Camera-Ready Deadline

15th January 2010

Early Registration

6th January - 1st March 2010

Bursary Applications Deadline

22nd February 2010


7th - 9th April 2010

Previous Evo* Events