Evo* 2010
Welcome to EvoStar 2010
The main European events on Evolutionary Computation
8th European event on Evolutionary and Biologically Inspired Music, Sound, Art and Design

EvoMUSART 2010 is the eighth event of the EvoNet working group on Evolutionary Music and Art. Following the success of previous events and the growth of interest in the field, the main goal of EvoMUSART 2010 is to bring together researchers who are using biologically inspired techniques for artistic tasks, providing the opportunity to promote, present and discuss ongoing work in this area.

The event will be held from 7-9 April, 2010 in Istanbul, Turkey as part of the EvoStar event.

Accepted papers will be presented orally at the event and included in the EvoApplications proceedings, published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

Donwnload the flyer.

Areas of Interests and Contributions

The papers should concern the use of bio-inspired techniques - e.g. Evolutionary Computation, Artificial Life, Artificial Neural Networks, Swarm Intelligence, etc. - in the scope of the generation, analysis and interpretation of art, music, design, architecture and other artistic fields. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Generation
    • Biologically Inspired Design and Art-Making Systems that create drawings, images, animations, sculptures, poetry, text, objects, designs, webpages, buildings, etc.
    • Biologically Inspired Sound-Generators and Music-Systems that create music, aggregate sound, or simulate instruments, voices, effects, etc
    • Robotic Based Evolutionary Art and Music
    • Other related generative techniques
  • Theory
    • Computational Aesthetics, Emotional Response, Surprise, Novelty
    • Representation techniques
    • Comparative analysis and classification
    • Validation methodologies
    • New biologically inspired computation models in art, music and design
  • Computer Aided Creativity
    • New ways of integrating users into evolutionary computation art and music frameworks
    • Analysis and evaluation of: the artistic potential of biologically inspired art and music; the artistic processes inherent to these approaches; the resulting artifacts
    • Collaborative distributed artificial art environments
  • Automation
    • Techniques for automated fitness assignment
    • Systems that exploit biologically inspired computation to analyze artistic objects and artifacts
Publication Details

Authors will be notified via email on the results of the review by 20 December 2009.

Accepted papers will appear in the proceedings of Evo*, published in a volume of the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science, which will be available at the Conference.

Accepted papers can be found here.

Submit your manuscript, at most 10 A4 pages long, in Springer LNCS format no later than November 4, 2009 using the online submission tool at http://myreview.csregistry.org/evoapplications10/.
Please refer to Springer LNCS web site for the paper formatting instructions.

Submissions must be original and not published elsewhere, and will be peer reviewed by at least two members of the program committee.
The review process is double-blind and therefore the paper must not contain any references that would identify the authors.

The authors of accepted papers will have to improve their paper on the basis of the reviewers' comments and will be asked to send a camera ready version of their manuscripts, along with text sources and pictures, by 10 January 2010.

At least one author of each accepted paper has to register for the conference no later than the early registration deadline, and at least one author has to attend the conference and present the paper.

Programme Chairs
Penousal Machado
University of Coimbra
Gary Greenfield
University of Richmond
Programme Committee
Alain Lioret (Paris 8 University, France)
Alan Dorin (Monash University, Australia)
Alejandro Pazos (University of A Coruna, Spain)
Amilcar Cardoso (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
Amy K. Hoover (University of Central Florida, USA)
Andrew Gildfind (Google, Inc., Australia)
Andrew Horner (University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong)
Anna Ursyn (University of Northern Colorado, USA)
Antonino Santos (University of A Coruna, Spain)
Artemis Sanchez Moroni (Renato Archer Research Center, Brazil)
Bill Manaris (College of Charleston, USA)
Brian Ross (Brock University, Canada)
Carlos Grilo (Instituto Politécnico de Leiria, Portugal)
Christian Jacob (University of Calgary, Canada)
Colin Johnson (University of Kent, UK)
Craig Kaplan (University of Waterloo, Canada)
David Hart (Independent Artist, USA)
Eduardo Miranda (University of Plymouth, UK)
Eleonora Bilotta (University of Calabria, Italy)
Erwin Driessens (Independent Artist, Netherlands)
Gary Nelson (Oberlin College, USA)
Gerhard Widmer (Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
Hans Dehlinger (Independent Artist, Germany)
James McDermott (University of Limerick, Ireland)
Jon McCormack (Monash University, Australia)
Jonatas Manzolli (UNICAMP, Brasil)
Jorge Tavares (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
Juan Romero (University of A Coruna, Spain)
Kenneth O. Stanley (University of Central Florida, USA)
Luigi Pagliarini (Pescara Electronic Artists Meeting, Italy & University of Southern, Denmark)
Maria Verstappen (Independent Artist, Netherlands)
Matthew Lewis (Ohio State University, USA)
Mauro Annunziato (Plancton Art Studio, Italy)
Nicolas Monmarché (University of Tours, France)
Oliver Bown (Monash University, Australia)
Pablo Gervás (Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain)
Palle Dahlstedt (Göteborg University, Sweden)
Paul Brown (University of Sussex, UK)
Paulo Urbano (Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal)
Peter Bentley (University College London, UK)
Philip Galanter (Texas A&M College of Architecture, USA)
Rafael Ramirez (Pompeu Fabra University, Spain)
Rui Pedro Paiva (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
Ruli Manurung (University of Indonesia, Indonesia)
Simon Colton (Imperial College, UK)
Somnuk Phon-Amnuaisuk (Multimedia University, Malaysia)
Stefano Cagnoni (University of Parma, Italy)
Stephen Todd (IBM, UK)
Steve DiPaola (Simon Fraser University, Canada)
Tim Blackwell (Goldsmiths College, University of London, UK)
Vic Ciesielski (RMIT, Australia)




EvoCompetitions (new)

Travel and local information
Visas for Turkey
Letters of invitation
Accepted papers
Invited speakers
Poster information

Local information sister site:
EvoStar 2010 @ Istanbul
Local news via RSS
Evo* 2010 is on LinkedIn

Submision Deadline

30th November 2009

Notification to Authors

6th January 2010

Camera-Ready Deadline

15th January 2010

Early Registration

6th January - 1st March 2010

Bursary Applications Deadline

22nd February 2010


7th - 9th April 2010

Previous Evo* Events